Posted by: scoopzone | June 7, 2010

A Mayberry Memorial Day

I had no idea when I moved to San Diego four years ago that I would end up back in small-town America. But that’s the best way to describe my neighborhood of Kensington. Of course, it’s not really small town, since it sits in the middle of a city of 1.3 million people.

Still, there are moments walking around here when I feel like I’m looking at a Normal Rockwell painting. That certainly was the case last Monday while I watched the 28th running of the Holiday at Home parade.

Click on any pic to view it larger.

Students and teachers from the Rare Hare Studio.

Now, they throw some crazy things at parades in New Orleans: painted coconuts, heads of cabbage, panties. But this was a first for me – a woman handing out free Krispy Kreme doughnuts, though most people were passing on  the offer.

What’s a parade without the mayor. The Honorable Jerry Sanders calls Kensington home, and he lives just a few blocks from the parade route.

With primary elections just a week away, there were plenty of politicians along the route including U.S. Rep. Susan Davis.

The chickens of Kensington are always a crowd pleaser.

Joining me and Tim (far right) for the parade were (from the left) neighbors Tom, Jenny, Mitch, Jeff and Charlie

Leave a Reply

Categories

